The International Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing Conference (IWCMC2009)

Mobile Computing Symposium

June 21-24, 2009 in Leipzig, Germany


Technical Support : IEEE(Pending)/ACM (pending)

 EDAS paper Submission

"Connecting the World Wirelessly"


Scope and Topics of Interest

The IWCMC2009 Mobile Computing Symposium focuses on the recent research results on mobile computer system. Perspective authors are invited to submit full papers presenting original research related to the theory or practice of mobile computing and networking. All submissions must report high-quality and previously unpublished work. Areas of interest mainly focus on mobile computing, including, but are not limited to:

  • Mobile Computing Infrastructure and Middleware
  • Adaptive Service Engineering, including Service Creation, Service Composition, Service Adaptation, Service Discovery, Service Deployment, Service Management, etc.
  • Pervasive/Ubiquitous Computing and Service Engineering
  • Novel Methodologies, Techniques or Toolkits for Pervasive Service Engineering in Mobile Environments
  • Web caching and services
  • Context-awareness
  • Peer-to-peer Networks and Computing
  • Grid Computing in Mobile Environment
  • Security Issues in Mobile Computing
  • Accounting and Pricing
  • Practical applications

However, research papers on mobile networks and wireless communications that underpin the upper layer computing are also welcome. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Mobile wireless QoS
  • Mobile wireless Internet, IPv6
  • Mobile ad hoc networks, wireless sensor networks
  • 4G, 3.5G, 3G, ... wireless systems
  • Satellite-based systems
  • Ultra-wide band communications (UWB)
  • Routing, multicasting, ...
  • Location-based service, GPS
  • Resource management
  • Heterogeneous wireless networks, radio access networks
  • Multiple access
  • Mobile agents
  • Wireless applications, mobile e-commerce, multimedia
  • Power aware computation and communication
  • Multi-user detection
  • Power management & control, low-power protocols
  • Transport-layer issues
  • Wireless security
  • Distributed algorithms for wireless networks
  • High altitude platform
  • Wireless network architectures
  • Wireless multimedia, QoS adaptation
  • Wireless communication around human body
  • Wireless Body Area Network (WBAN)
  • Personal area networks, body wireless networks, Bluetooth
  • Coding & modulation
  • MIMO, adaptive antenna
  • Software-defined radio, reconfigurable radio networks
  • Modeling, simulation


Important dates



Full Paper Submission

January 20 2009 (extended)

Notification of Acceptance

March 25 2009

Camera-Ready Version and Copyright Form Submission

April 15 2009

Registration Deadline for Authors

April 15 2009






Paper Submission Web Site


Submission Guidelines

For this symposium,  authors are invited to submit full papers presenting new research related to the theory or practice of mobile computing and networking. All submissions must describe original research, not published or currently under review for another conference or journal.

All papers are limited to six printed pages, including text, figures and references, and must be written in English and follow the standard IEEE double-column format. The font size must be at least 10 points. All submissions will be handled electronically through EDAS system at and must be in PDF format. All submitted papers would be judged based on their quality through a double peer-reviewing process. Accepted papers will be published in the Conference Proceedings of IWCMC2009, which will be included in ACM/IEEE Digital Library (pending approval). Selected papers will be further considered for possible publication in a special issue of the Wiley Journal of "Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing (WCMC)," and "International Journal of Autonomous and Adaptive Communications Systems  (IJAACS)". There will also be best paper and best symposium awards.

Symposium Co-Chairs

Kun Yang

University of Essex, UK

Jie Li

University of Tsukuba, Japan

Pingyi Fan

Tsinghua University, P. R. China

Dilip Krishnaswamy

Qualcomm, USA


Technical Program Committee (tentative)

(Listed in the Alphabetic Order of Last Name)


Jiannong Cao Hong Kong Polytechnic University  Hong Kong 
Zhining Chen Institute for Infocomm Research (I2R)  Singapore
Yen-Wen Chen National Central University Taiwan
Komosny Dan Brno University of Technology Czech Republic
Andreas  Heiner Nokia Finland
Yeonkwon Jeong Information and Communications University  Korea
Qun Jin Waseda University  Japan
Chonggun Kim Yeungnam University  Korea
Guansheng Li Connell University USA
Geyong Min University of Bradford  UK
Shumao Ou University of Essex UK
Christos Politis University of Kingston UK
ChangWoo Pyo  National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (NICT) Japan
Yi Qian National Institute of Standards and Technology  USA
Matthew McKay Hong Kong University of Science and Technology China
Joan Serrat UPC - Bacelona Spain
Jiahong Wang Iwate Prefectural University  Japan
Wenyong Wang Northeast Normal University China
Hong-Chuan Yang University of Victoria Canada
Hidetoshi Yokota KDDI R&D Laboratories Inc. Japan
Tingting  Zhang Mid Sweden University  Sweden
Yan Zhang Simula Research Laboratory Norway
Liqiang Zhao Xidian University China
Bosheng Zhou Queen's University of Belfast UK
Naor  Zohar  University of Haifa  Israel